Braised Cauliflower with Carrots and Cabbage

IMG_1013

Maybe not so pretty, but SO delicious! I started the plan for tonight’s meal looking for a good rutabaga recipe. I settled on these Rutabaga and Potato cakes, but they didn’t come out as well as they look. They were quite tasty chopped up in this veggie braise though! This recipe is loosely based on this recipe for ““Kounoupidi Kapama”-Braised Cauliflower” but cinnamon and I have broken up recently, at least for savory dishes. They always smell so delicious and then I’m disappointed by the flavor. I had some Moroccan Red Curry Powder a friend had brought me back from Morocco, and the sweet paprika and chilies really go well with the tomatoes!
I had half a head of cauliflower left over from another Mac ‘N Not-Cheese adventure, which was quite successful (that recipe for cauliflower alfredo here), and I wanted something stew-y I could incorporate the half a head of green cabbage I had in as well.

Braised Cauliflower with Carrots and Cabbage

  • 1/2 head of cauliflower, chopped into florets
  • 1/2 head of green cabbage, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, cut into large chunks
  • 1 onion, cut into large chunks
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes (I used a garlic and oregano variety)
  • 1 cup of water or broth
  • 1 heaping tsp Red Curry Powder*
  • olive oil, salt, and pepper

Heat the oil in a dutch oven or large, deep saute pan. Sweat the onion a bit and then add the garlic, cauliflower, carrot, and cabbage. Allow the veggies to brown a bit, stirring occasionally, for about 7 minutes. Add the remaining ingredients and simmer for about 15 minutes until the cauliflower and carrots are tender.

*Red Curry Powder. This stuff is not that common, but McCormick makes one that contains coriander, cumin, chili pepper, sweet red pepper (paprika), and cardamom, which should be very close to what I used, and you could incorporate a dash of each to come close. If you want to try the Greek version I linked, just use 1 tsp cinnamon instead.

Leave a Reply

